Vice Presidents of India List

Vice Presidents of India List

Vice President of India or ( VP of India ) is the second highest office in the Government of India after the President of India. Since 1950, there have been 13 Vice Presidents. In this article we shall see the List of Vice Presidents of India till date, and also some other facts related to the VP such as the first, current, and female vice presidents, etc.

VP holds office for 5 years, however, can continue to be in office, irrespective of the expiry of the term, until the successor assumes office. He is the ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha. Articles 63 to 73 of the Constitution of India deal with the qualifications, election, duties, removal, and other aspects related to the Vice President of India.

Vice Presidents of India List 

Name Term of office
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1952 – 12 May 1962
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
V. V. Giri 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
B. D. Jatti 31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
Mohammad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
K. R. Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11 August 2007 – 11 August 2017
Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 – Incumbent

Some Facts related to Vice Presidents of India 

First Vice President of India

Dr Sarvepalli Radha Krishnan is the 1st Vice President of India.

Current Vice President of India

The current VP of India is Sri M Venkaiah Naidu. He assumed Office on 11th August 2017. He was sworn in as the 13th vice president of India. Previously, he was a Union Minister in the NDA Government and member of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

First Woman or Female Vice President of India

Till date a female has not served as the VP. It should be noted here that, Sri Pratibha Patil Served as the 12th President of India from 2007 to 2012. She is the only Female President of India till date.

First Vice President Who was born after India’s Independence

Shri M Venkaiah Naidu is the first VP of India, who was born after India’s Independence.

VP of India who died in Office

Krishna Kant has been the only VP who died during his tenure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *