Nuclear Power Plants in India

Nuclear Power Plants in India

Nuclear Power Plants in India – Currently, In India, there are 22 functioning Nuclear Power Reactors in 7 Nuclear Power Plants, with a total installed capacity of 6780 MW. Nuclear Power stations are for of electricity or power generation. Nuclear power accounts to about 3.22% of the total country’s power.

Nuclear Power Plants is an important topic for all competitive exams or Government exams such as SSC, Banking, Insurance, etc. It is part of the General Awareness section in most of these exams. We shall see in detail the list of Nuclear Power Plants in India:

Nuclear Power Plants in India 

Nuclear Power Plants – Operational

Nuclear Power Station Established Year Location Operator  Type of Reactor Capacity
Tarapur Atomic Power Station (1, 2, 3, 4) 1969 Maharashtra NPCIL BWR


Rajasthan Atomic Power Station (1 to 6) 1973 Rajasthan NPCIL CANDU


Madras (Kalpakkam) Atomic Power Station (1, 2) 1985 Tamil Nadu NPCIL IPHWR-220 440
Narora Atomic Power Station (1, 2) 1991 Uttar Pradesh NPCIL IPHWR-220 440
Kakrapar Atomic Power Station (1, 2, 3) 1993 Gujarat NPCIL IPHWR-220


Kaiga Nuclear Power Plant (1, 2, 3, 4) 2000 Karnataka NPCIL IPHWR-220 880
Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (1, 2) 2013 Tamil Nadu NPCIL VVER-1000 2000


Nuclear Power Plants – Under Construction

Name Location Operator Type of Rector Capacity
Kalpakkam Tamil Nadu BHAVINI PFBR 500
Rajasthan (7 and 8) Rajasthan NPCIL PHWR-700 1,400
Kakrapar (4) Gujarat NPCIL IPHWR-700 1,400
Kudankulam (3 and 4) Tamil Nadu NPCIL VVER-1000 2,000


Nuclear Power Plants in India – Planned

Power station State Reactor Type Number of
Total capacity
Tarapur Maharashtra AHWR 1 300
Chennai Tamil Nadu FBR 2 1200
Kaiga Karnataka IPHWR-700 2 1400
Chutka Madhya Pradesh IPHWR-700 2 1400
Kudankulam Tamil Nadu VVER-1000 2 2,000
Gorakhpur Haryana IPHWR-700 4 2,800
Mahi Banswara Rajasthan IPHWR-700 4 2800
Kavali Andhra Pradesh VVER 6 6000
Kovvada Andhra Pradesh AP1000 6 6600
Jaitapur Maharashtra EPR 6 9900
Total 33000


Important Facts about Nuclear Power Plants in India 

First Nuclear Power Plant in India or First Atomic Power Station in India

Tarapur Atomic Power Plant-1 (TAPS-1) is The First Nuclear Power station In India. It is located in Boinsar, Maharastra. It is operational since 1969.

Largest Nuclear power plant in India

Kundankulam Nuclear power plant in Tamilnadu is the largest nuclear power plant in India with an installed capacity of 2000 MW.

Asia’s first Atomic Reactor

APSARA Research Reactor in Mumbai is Asia’s first Atomic Reactor. It was designed by the Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC) and built with assistance from the United Kingdom. It first went critical on 4 August 1956.

How many Operational Nuclear Power Reactors are there in India ?

Currently, there are 22 Operational Nuclear Power Reactors across 7 Nuclear Power Plants in India.

Who controls India’s Nuclear Power stations?

Nuclear Power Plants in India are controlled by the Nuclear Power Corporation of India (NPCIL).

Nuclear power Plants in India Map 

Nuclear Power Plants in India Map

Nuclear Power Plants in India Map




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *